alles dan om niets

door johan_velter

30-12-2016_george-herbert

The collar

I struck the board, and cried, No more.
I will abroad.
What? shall I ever sigh and pine?
My lines and life are free; free as the road,
Loose as the wind, as large as store.
Shall I be still in suit?
Have I no harvest but a thorn
To let me blood, and not restore
What I have lost with cordial fruit?
Sure there was wine
Before my sighs did dry it: there was corn
Before my tears did drown it. 

Is the year only lost to me?
Have I no bays to crown it?
No flowers, no garlands gay? All blasted?
All wasted? 

Not so, my heart: but there is fruit,
And thou hast hands.
Recover all thy sigh-blown age
On double pleasures: leave thy cold dispute
Of what is fit and not. Forsake thy cage,
Thy rope of sands,
Which petty thoughts have made, and made to thee
Good cable, to enforce and draw,
And be thy law,
While thou didst wink and wouldst not see.

Away; take heed:
I will abroad.
Call in thy death’s head there: tie up thy fears.
He that forbears
To suit and serve his need
Deserves his load. 

But as I raved and grew more fierce and wild
At every word,
Me thoughts I heard one calling, Child:
And I replied My Lord. 

George Herbert (1593-1633)

(Ik sloeg op tafel en riep: Niet langer meer. / Ik wil weg. / Wat? Zal ik blijven zuchten en kwijnen? / Ik ben een vrij man, vrij als de weg die open ligt. / Ongebonden als de wind en weids als het vele. / Blijf ik dit uniform dragen? / Heb ik geen recht op oogst, enkel doornen voor mij / die mij laten bloeden, en het verlies niet versterken / zoals het gezonde fruit? / Natuurlijk, er was wijn / voordat mijn gesteun hem deed opdrogen ; er was brood / voordat mijn tranen die nat maakten / Is dit jaar alleen maar verlies geweest? / Geen lauwerkrans? / Geen bloemen, geen vrolijke slingers? Alles dood? / Alles om niets? / Nee, mijn hart, er is fruit / Je hebt handen. / Neem het jaar van zuchten terug / met verdubbeld plezier: laat het kille piekeren achterwege / over wat mag en niet mag. Verlaat die kooi, / de ketens van zand / die door je mineure gedachten gevormd waren / en een stevige kabel werd  die alles versterkte, / Je eigen wet werd / En je sloot je ogen en zag het andere niet / Weg daarmee, vooruit: / ruimte wil ik / Geen doodshoofd meer: knevel je angsten. / Hij die niet handelt / om zichzelve / verdient zijn lot. / Maar toen ik raasde en vuriger en wilder werd / hoorde ik / bij elk woord van mij een roepen, Kind ! / En ik antwoordde, Mijn Heer.)

