wat monica lewinsky, paul claes en elisabeth tonnard met elkaar verbindt

door johan_velter

Monica-Lewinsky

Monica Lewinsky in Vanity’s fair, 24 juni 2015 :

“I was 16, sitting in Ms. Butterworth’s high-school English class, completely unaware that my literary world (such as it was, at that tender age) was about to be rocked. I had a lot of teen angst at 16. (Who didn’t?) A high-school junior, desperately trying to fit in while desperately trying to be different and special. And into this torrent of anxiety and confused desire, came this: “Let us go then, you and I, when the evening is spread out against the sky, like a patient etherized upon a table,” Ms. Butterworth read aloud to the class. That was it. I was hooked. Farewell, e.e. cummings and “somewhere I have never travelled”; you have been jilted. I was smitten with T.S. Eliot and his blazing poem “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.” Continuing now for more than 20 years, these feelings have not waned.”

Paul Claes, Prufrock en andere observaties (Koppernik, 2016), de eerste volledige vertaling in het Nederlands.

prufrock

Elisabeth Tonnard, Let us go then, you and I : T.S. tipp-exed (Ampersand, 2003). De gedichten zijn getipp-exed uit een fragment van T.S. Eliot’s The love song of J. Alfred Prufrock.

tonnard

Beeld: Poetry Foundation, Koppernik, Elisabeth Tonnard

